Agriculture under Climate Change

18.17.19.01.01

The Risks Posed by Climate, and How Agriculture Can Adapt

Climate change affects Swiss agriculture too: temperatures are rising, precipitation patterns are changing, and extreme events are on the increase. The KlimAdapt project explores current and expected climate risks, and develops scientific principles for the planning of adaptive measures such as the selection of suitable varieties for plant production.

Contact

The Effect of Climate Change on Mountain Farming

A study conducted by Agroscope researchers has discovered that climate change and air pollution are changing alpine pastures, with these two factors particularly affecting the species composition of the summer grazing areas.

grain_maize

Climatic Suitability for Plant Production

Crop yield potentials depend on regional biogeoclimatic conditions. Progressing climate change will lead to changes in regional suitability for the cultivation of crops.

AnpassungKlima

Climate Change Effects on Alpine Meadows

In Switzerland, Alpine meadows can be considered the backbone of traditional livestock farming. At the same time, they can be viewed as the cultural landscapes that are usually associated with Switzerland, both by the local population as well as by foreign visitors.

grundwasser_seeland.JPG

Climate Change and Water Use in the Bernese Seeland

Irrigation water demands are likely to increase in the future. However, depending on availability of resources, water use conflicts may arise.

arrosage_broye.JPG

Impacts of Climate- and Land Use Change on Multifunctionality in the Broye Catchment

When combined with changes in management, climate change causes shifts in agroecosystem functioning, which can either have positive or negative effects on the provision of different ecosystem services.

Klimarisiken Landwirtschaft - Anpassungmöglichkeiten

18.17.19.01.01

Klimarisiken Landwirtschaft - Anpassungmöglichkeiten

Die Klimaveränderung betrifft auch die Schweizer Landwirtschaft: Temperaturen steigen, Niederschläge verändern sich und Extremereignisse nehmen zu. Das Projekt KlimAdapt erforscht die aktuellen und zu erwartenden Klimarisiken und erarbeitet naturwissenschaftliche Grundlagen für die Planung von Anpassungsmassnahmen wie z.B. eine geeignete Sortenwahl für die Pflanzenproduktion.

Ansprechperson

Berglandwirtschaft im Klimawandel

Klimawandel und Luftverschmutzung verändern die Alpweiden. Besonders die Artenzusammensetzung der Sömmerungsgebiete ist von diesen Effekten betroffen. Dies haben Agroscope-Forschende in einer Studie herausgefunden. Folgen Sie uns in diesem Fachvideo nach Ardez ins Unterengadin.  

grain_maize

Klimaeignung für den Pflanzenbau in der Schweiz

Ertragspotentiale werden wesentlich durch klimatische Bedingungen bestimmt. Mit fortschreitendem Klimawandel ergeben sich Änderungen in der regionalen Anbaueignung.

AnpassungKlima

Die Wirkung des Klimawandels auf die Alpweiden der Schweiz

Alpweiden stellen die Grundlage der traditionellen, flächengebundenen Viehwirtschaft der Schweiz dar. Gleichzeitig bilden sie eine uralte Kulturlandschaft, die sowohl für die einheimische Bevölkerung, als auch für ausländische Besucher, ein wichtiges Stück Schweiz symbolisiert.

grundwasser_seeland.JPG

Klimawandel und landwirtschaftliche Wassernutzung im Berner Seeland

Eine Möglichkeit der landwirtschaftlichen Anpassung an steigenden Trockenstress liegt in der Zunahme von Bewässerung. Dadurch könnten sich Nutzungskonflikte um die Ressource Wasser unter Klimawandel verschärfen.

arrosage_broye.JPG

Wirkung von Klima- und Nutzungsänderungen auf Multifunktionalität im Einzugsgebiet der Broye

Der Klimawandel bringt im Zusammenspiel mit Bewirtschaftungsänderungen Verschiebungen im Wirkungsgefüge von Agrarökosystemen mit sich, die sich positiv oder negativ auf die Erbringung unterschiedlicher Ökosystemdienstleistungen auswirken können.