FusaProg

FusaProg

Information system to assess the risk of Fusarium infection and DON contamination in wheat

Since 2013, the information system FusaProg is also available through a web app for smartphones.  For registered wheat plots, downloads are available for daily values and infection-risk maps as well as forecasts of DON contamination. In addition, an ad hoc risk assessment for any wheat plot in Switzerland is available. The site of the plot is automatically located by the smartphone GPS.

In order to use the FusaProg Web App, interested cereal producers register first online at www.fusaprog.ch (user fee: CHF 30 per season). During registration, the programme will automatically assign a username, and you will choose your own password. Once the registered account is enabled by the system administrator, the web app can be used. For this, navigate with the browser on your smartphone to www.fusaprog.ch/fusaapp. On the homepage of the web app, you can enter your username and password to access the individual features. To create an app icon on your smartphone, you have to add the visited IP address to your home screen (iPhone) or save it as a shortcut (Android).

FusaProg / Web App

  • Comprehensive risk assessment
  • Assessment and evaluation of the regional situation
  • User fee: CHF 30 per season

FusaProg Light / Web App

  • Quick assessment
  • Risk evaluation for the current day
  • Free of charge

Which factors increase the risk of Fusarium infection and high DON contamination?

Increased Fusarium graminearum (FG) infection and high deoxynivalenol (DON) contamination are the result of the co-occurrence of cropping factors favourable for FG infection together with warm and humid weather conditions during flowering period. Based on a Fusarium and DON monitoring programme carried out in the canton of Aargau from 2001 to 2003, Agroscope analysed and quantified the influence of different cropping factors on Fusarium infection. The combination of maize as a previous crop with reduced tillage and a wheat variety with a high to moderate susceptibility to FG proved to harbour the greatest risk. This knowledge, as well as findings on the weather conditions conducive for a FG infection (the most important DON producer) was used to develop the internet-based forecasting and information system FusaProg. In 2006, FusaProg was first tested in practice by the cantonal plant protection offices as well as in several on-farm wheat experiments conducted by Agroscope. The online version of FusaProg was available to cereal producers in 2007, and since 2013, the system can also be used through mobile phones.

By analysing and quantifying all important infection and contamination factors, FusaProg not only enables a good assessment of the DON contamination risk, but also serves as a valuable resource to enhance wheat cropping systems to avoid mycotoxin contamination as well as for advising and supporting the industry during delivery of cereal crops.

Link

Contact

FusaProg

FusaProg

Système d’information pour évaluer le risque d’infection par Fusarium et de contamination par DON dans les céréales.

Depuis 2013, Agroscope offre également le système d’information FusaProg via une application Web pour des smartphones. Cette application permet de consulter les valeurs journalières et les cartes représentant le risque d’infection ainsi que les prévisions de contamination par DON pour les parcelles de blé enregistrées. Il est également possible d’estimer le risque d’une parcelle ad hoc pour n’importe quel site en Suisse. Le site de la parcelle est localisé automatiquement par le GPS du smartphone.  

Afin de pouvoir utiliser l’application Web FusaProg, les producteurs de céréales intéressés doivent d’abord s’enregistrer via l’internet sous www.fusaprog.ch (coût d’abonnement : 30.-/saison). Lors de l’inscription, le programme vous attribue automatiquement un nom d'utilisateur. Vous choisissez ensuite vous-même votre mot de passe. L’application Web peut être utilisée dès que le compte enregistré a été approuvé par l’administrateur du système. Il suffit d’activer le lien www.fusaprog.ch/fusaapp sur le smartphone pour ouvrir la page d’accueil de l’application. L’identifiant et le mot de passe vous donnent ensuite accès aux différentes fonctions. Pour obtenir l’icône de l’application sur le smartphone, l’adresse internet consultée doit être ajoutée à l’écran d’accueil (iPhone) ou sauvegardée comme raccourci (Android).

FusaProgWeb-App

  • Consultation approfondie de l’évaluation des risques
  • Estimation et évaluation de la situation régionale
  • Coût: CHF 30.- / saison

FusaProg Light / Web-App

  • Consultation rapide
  • Evaluation des risques pour le jour actuel
  • Gratuite 

Quels sont les facteurs qui augmente l’infection par Fusarium et la contamination de DON élevée DON ?

Une augmentation de l’infection par le Fusarium et une forte contamination par la déoxynivalénole (DON) sont le résultat de facteurs culturaux stimulant l’infection conjugués à des conditions météorologiques chaudes et humides pendant la floraison du blé, c’est-à-dire à des conditions favorables à l’infection. Le monitoring du Fusarium et de DON dans le canton d’Argovie de 2001 à 2003 a permis à Agroscope d’analyser et de quantifier l’influence de différents facteurs culturaux sur l’infection par le Fusarium. La conjugaison de facteurs tels que le maïs comme précédent cultural, un travail du sol sans labour et une variété de blé fortement ou moyennement sensible au Fusarium s’est avérée la combinaison la plus défavorable. Ces résultats ainsi que les connaissances réunies sur les conditions météorologiques favorisant les infections par Fusarium graminearum, le principal champignon formant la DON, ont servi à développer en 2004 le modèle d’avertissement et de pronostic FusaProg basé sur l’internet. En 2006, FusaProg a été mis en pratique pour la première fois par les services cantonaux de protection phytosanitaire. Il a également été testé par Agroscope dans le cadre de plusieurs essais sur le blé dans des exploitations. En 2007, la version internet de FusaProg a été mise à disposition des producteurs de céréales. Depuis 2013, le système peut également être utilisé depuis les téléphones portables.

Grâce à l’analyse et à la quantification des facteurs principaux d’infection et de contamination, FusaProg permet non seulement une estimation correcte du risque de contamination par DON, mais constitue également un outil précieux pour éviter les toxines en optimisant le système de culture du blé ainsi qu’en conseillant et soutenant la filière lors de la prise en charge des céréales. 

Liens

Contact