Equifeed - Roughage Quality

Rhoughage Quality

Evaluation of Roughage Quality - Sensory Evaluation

For physiological reasons, horses need a qualitatively impeccable, richly structured roughage such as hay, haylage (dry silage) or straw as a main component of their ration. This applies for horses of all breeds, from leisure horses to high-performance animals.

Because horses are especially sensitive to spoilt or contaminated feedstuffs, hygienic quality is one of the most important criteria for horseforage. Roughage-based feeding which is adapted to the needs of the animal and of impeccable quality is crucial for equine health maintenance and occupation, and hence for the well-being of the horse.

A sensorial test (organoleptic test) can be used to evaluate the hygienic quality of a feed sample. Here, odour (nose), appearance and contamination (eyes) and the structure (touching with hands) of the feed is evaluated. Feeds receiving a ‘poor’ rating must not be fed. The sensorial test says nothing about the nutritional value of the feed. The nutritional value can be estimated or looked up as tabular values on the basis of the developmental stage and botanical composition of the feed.

Equifeed - Qualité du fourrage

Qualité fourrage

Évaluation Qualité du fourrage - Évaluation sensorielle

Pour des raisons nutritionnelles, la ration du cheval doit principalement se composer de fourrage de qualité irréprochable et riche en structure, comme le foin, le haylage (ensilage sec) et la paille. Ceci est valable pour les chevaux de toutes races, du cheval de loisir au cheval de haute performance.

Le cheval est particulièrement sensible aux aliments avariés et contaminés. C’est pourquoi la qualité hygiénique compte parmi les critères les plus importants pour les aliments pour chevaux. Une alimentation riche en fourrage et adaptée aux besoins, ainsi qu’une excellente qualité contribuent au maintien de la santé, à l’occupation ainsi qu’au bien-être du cheval.

À l’aide d’un examen sensoriel (examen organoleptique), il est possible d’évaluer la qualité hygiénique d’un échantillon de fourrage. On évalue ici l’odeur (nez), l’aspect et les souillures (yeux), ainsi que la structure (toucher avec les mains) du fourrage. Si on estime que le fourrage est mauvais, il ne doit pas être distribué. L’examen sensoriel ne fournit pas d’indications sur la valeur nutritive du fourrage. La valeur nutritive peut être estimée en connaissance du stade de développement et de la composition botanique du fourrage à l’aide des valeurs des tables.